Oxford Beethoven Festival: Symphony & Concerto Cycle I - Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Photo of Marios Papadopoulos playing piano under a spotlight

Two hundred and fifty years on from the birth of the man who changed the course of music forever, Marios Papadopoulos salutes Ludwig van Beethoven in the most absorbing and comprehensive way: presenting a complete cycle of the composer’s symphonies and piano concertos as both conductor and soloist.

The Oxford Beethoven Festival launches at the Sheldonian Theatre with the composer’s clipped and courteous Piano Concerto No. 1 and his revolutionary heroic symphony that is anything but, the ‘Eroica’.

Beethoven aficionado and devotee John Suchet introduces the concert. 


Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15

Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 55, ‘Eroica’


There will be a free admission pre-concert recital 6.30pm by the Young Artists' Platform - a wonderful opportunity to hear talented young musicians.

Ticket Information

Full price: £45 | £35 | £25 | £15 

Concessions available