Oxford Beethoven Festival: Symphony & Concerto Cycle II - Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Photo of Marios Papadopoulos playing piano under a spotlight

Marios Papadopoulos conducts the OPO in Beethoven’s Symphony Nos 1 and 5, as well as directing the composer’s Piano Concerto No. 4 from the keyboard.

Should there be any doubts as to why the world is celebrating Beethoven in 2020, this concert will dispel them.

From the fearsome opening thunderclap of the fifth symphony, Beethoven developed a new kind of symphonic discourse through relentless focus on one musical motto invested with unstoppable momentum. After the bursting impulses of the first symphony and before the furies of the fifth, Marios Papadopoulos is both soloist and conductor for Beethoven’s most tender piano concerto – premiered at the same 1808 concert as the fifth symphony and yet a world away in its supple, soothing expression.  


Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21
Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67

Marios Papadopoulos - Piano/conductor


There will be a Pre-concert Recital for a Young Artists' Platform, and this is your chance to hear talented young musicians. Doors will open for this at 18:20, with the recital starting at 18:30.

Doors open at 19:00 for the main concert this is scheduled to end at approximately 22:00.

Ticket information

Pre-Concert Recital: Free Admission

Main Concert Ticket Prices: £45 / £35 / £25 / £15 / Students from £5 / Concessions available