Tchaikovsky & Rachmaninov - Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Photo of full orchestra and audience in the Sheldonian

The Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra performs Tchakovsky’s Violin Concerto in D major, with their Co-Concertmaster Yuri Zhislin as the soloist, and Rachmaninov’s second symphony.

‘How fresh, how beautiful it is’ remarked one critic after the first performance of Sergei Rachmaninov’s Symphony No. 2 in 1908.

There is a reason this symphony is deemed the composer’s most perfect orchestral creation, as rich textures and sombre harmonies wrap themselves around Rachmaninov’s finely contoured melodies. The music smoulders, flares up and propels itself towards a whirling, spirited climax. Before it, our own Co-Concertmaster Yuri Zhislin is the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s powerful, poetic and unsurpassed violin concerto. 


Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35

Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27


Yuri Zhislin - Violin
Marios Papadopoulos - Conductor

There will be a Pre-concert Recital for a Young Artists' Platform, and this is your chance to hear talented young musicians. Doors will open for this at 18:20, with the recital starting at 18:30.

Doors open at 19:00 for the main concert this is scheduled to end at approximately 22:05.

Ticket information

Pre-Concert Recital: Free Admission

Main Concert Ticket Prices: £45 / £35 / £25 / £15 / Students from £5 / Concessions available