Brahms, Strauss and Stravinsky with Oxford Symphony Orchestra


Stravinsky's ballet Le Baiser de la Fée (The Fairy's Kiss) depicts a child kissed on the head at birth, revisited by the fairy once he has grown into a young man. The Divertimento from this ballet is a concert suite for orchestra, inspired by tunes from Tchaikovsky.

The horn's singing voice is then showcased in Strauss' second Horn Concerto, which features not only the horn as a heroic hunting instrument, but also beautiful sweeping melodies. 
Brahms' first symphony took nearly 20 years to complete, and builds on the legacy left by Beethoven. This well-loved work includes restful interludes, grand melodies and majestic triumph.

Stravinsky - Divertimento from Le Baiser de la Fée 
Strauss - Horn Concerto no.2 
Brahms - Symphony no.1 

Richard Watkins horn 
Robert Max conductor


General Admission

Full Price - £ 16.00

Over 60s - £14.00

Students 16-25/Universal credit - £5.00

Accompanied under 16s - Free 

Doors open at 19:00 ready for an 19:30 start

Duration: 2 Hours 15 Minutes, Latecomers permitted after first piece


Or call Oxford Playhouse - 01865 305305