Dvořák Eight with Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

01 dvorak eight

In his symphony No. 8, Antonin Dvořák captured his delight to be alive – his sheer enchantment in the face of existence. Surely the most blissful symphony the Czech composer wrote, it is a work overflowing with joyous fanfares and the beauty of the natural world. In the atmospheric surroundings of Oxford’s own Sheldonian Theatre, Marios Papadopoulos conducts the symphony here after music from the first Viennese School, featuring the Orchestra’s outstanding principal wind players, that doesn’t so much revel in happiness as appear to touch the heavens.

Schubert Rondo for Violin and Strings, D. 438
Mozart Sinfonia Concertante for Four Winds in E flat major, K. 297b
Dvořák Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88

Alejandro Carreño violin
Clara Dent oboe
Laura Ruiz Ferreres clarinet
Bence Bogányi bassoon
Radek Baborák horn
Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Ticket Information

Full price: £15, £28, £38, £48

Students from £5

Doors open at 19:00 ready for a 19:30 start

Duration: 125 Minutes including an internal of 20 minutes


Or call Oxford Philharmonic's Box Office via 01865 980980 (Monday-Friday 09:00-17:00)

Suitable for ages 6+