Oxford Beethoven Festival: TS Eliot Four Quartets - Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Photo of Jeremy Irons against a black background

Beethoven’s music was coursing through TS Eliot’s mind when he wrote his wartime poetic masterpieces, the Four Quartets.

In this performance at the Sheldonian Theatre, Jeremy Irons recites Eliot’s unsurpassed contemplation of time, the universe and the divine while Soloists of the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra play Beethoven’s testament to beauty and humanity, the String Quartet Op. 132.

Pivoting on its expansive slow movement, a hymn of thanksgiving from a recuperating Beethoven, there is no more penetrating insight into the nature of suffering and difficulty than this masterpiece from Beethoven’s pen. 



Four Quartets


String Quartet No. 15 in A minor, Op. 132 

Jeremy Irons - Narrator
Soloists of the Oxford Philharmonic


Doors open at 19:00 and the concert is scheduled to end at approximately 21:50.

Ticket information

Price: £45 / £35 / £25 / £15 / Students from £5 / Concessions available