Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra - Beethoven’s Ninth

marios 1

Beethoven’s ninth still sounds palpably off-the-leash despite the two centuries of musical evolution that have passed since its first performance in 1824. This most iconic of symphonies is still riddled with contradictions – part model of classical form, part complete rule-breaker; a dark, deranged romp and an inspiring journey to triumph. Marios Papadopoulos conducts it here, the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra joined by singers from Beethoven’s home town of Bonn, after the very work that smoothened its way: the unique hybrid of symphony, concerto and choral work that is the ‘Choral Fantasy’. 

Concert introduced by John Suchet

Supported by Geoffrey & Caroline de Jager

Beethoven Fantasia in C minor, Op. 80, ‘Choral Fantasy’
Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125, ‘Choral’

Claire Rutter soprano
Angela Simkin mezzo-soprano
Benjamin Hulett tenor
David Shipley bass
Philharmonischer Chor der Stadt Bonn
Paul Krämer chorus master
Marios Papadopoulos piano/conductor

Ticket Information

Full price: £20, £32, £42, £60

Students from £5

Doors open at 18:30 ready for a 19:00 start

Duration: 1 Hour 45 Minutes