Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra - Brahms

anna liisa bezrodny

Two decades in the making, the first of Johannes Brahms’s symphonies is a powerful drama of heroism and defiance whose journey to victory over torment contains as much intimacy as grandeur. This is a symphonic struggle on Brahms’s own lyrical, melancholy-tinged terms with hints of the delicate nobility that would characterise the composer’s double concerto for violin and cello written nearly a decade later. Oxford Philharmonic's own Associate Concertmaster and Solo Cello are soloists in this celebration of Brahms’s magisterial craft. 

Brahms Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102, ‘Double Concerto’
Brahms Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Anna-Liisa Bezrodny violin
Mats Lidström cello
Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Ticket Information

Full price: £15, £28, £38, £48

Students from £5

Doors open at 19:00 ready for a 19:30 start

Duration: 120 Minutes