Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra - Sir Bryn Terfel

bryn terfel

There is no voice on earth quite like Sir Byrn Terfel’s. Here, the bass-baritone joins the Orchestra for some of the most monumental moments in Wagner, and roles the Welsh singer has made his own the world over.

Before we hear such intense and multifaceted drama from Der Ring des Nibelungen and Die Meistersinger, our own Solo Oboe Clara Dent plays the Oboe Concerto by Wagner’s acolyte Richard Strauss, after John Traill conducts the first performance of a new work by Toby Anderson, winner of our 2021 Composers’ Workshop. 

Toby Anderson touchless : a disco* world premiere
Richard Strauss Oboe Concerto in D major, TrV 292
Wagner Prelude to Act III from Lohengrin
Wagner ‘Was duftet doch der Flieder’ from Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
Wagner Ride of the Valkyries from Die Walküre
Wagner Wotan’s Farewell and Magic Fire Music from Die Walküre

Sir Bryn Terfel bass-baritone
Clara Dent oboe
John Traill conductor*
Marios Papadopoulos conductor 

Ticket Information

Full price: £20, £32, £42, £60

Students from £5

Doors open at 19:00 ready for a 19:30 start

Duration: 2 Hours 10 Minutes