Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra - Tchaikovsky


In earlier symphonies, Tchaikovsky explored fate. In his last, he explored mortality. Persecuted by an intolerant society as his homosexuality became increasingly public, the composer put his all into the sixth symphony. This highly neurotic music teeters on the edge of implosion before collapsing with prophetic exhaustion. Like Tchaikovsky’s life shortly after its first performance, this most emotionally charged and structurally daring symphony doesn’t end happily. Thankfully there is a silver lining in this concert, in the form of the composer’s rapturous and celebratory Violin Concerto, played by our own Concertmaster Natalia Lomeiko. 

Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, ‘Pathétique’

Natalia Lomeiko - Violin
Marios Papadopoulos - Conductor

Young Artists’ Platform
Supported by The D’Oyly Carte Charitable Trust
Pre-concert recital 18:30-18:50

Ticket Information

Full price: £15, £28, £38, £48

Students from £5

Doors open for Young Artist Platform at 18:20 ready for a 18:30 start

Doors open for Main Concert at 19:00 ready for a 19:30 start

Duration: 125 Minutes