Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra - Tchaikovsky’s Fifth

tchaikovskys fifth

In the late 1880s, Tchaikovsky felt himself suddenly free from the catastrophes that were haunting his private life and carving a tragic path through his career. That much is clear from the new symphony taking shape on the composer’s desk at the time. Light floods the textures of the exquisite fifth symphony while hopeful melodies invade its dark corners.

Marios Papadopoulos conducts it here, after Russell Hirshfield joins him for Scriabin’s delectable Piano Concerto – a blend of classical order, romantic rhapsody and the Russian composer’s own brand of mystical inflammation. The Orchestra is joined by some of Oxford’s most talented young musicians and our Conducting Fellow Cayenna Ponchione-Bailey for a performance of Glinka’s ever-popular Overture to Ruslan and Ludmilla as part of our Side-by-Side scheme. 

Glinka Overture to Ruslan and Ludmila* Side-by-Side
Scriabin Piano Concerto in F sharp minor, Op. 20
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 

Russell Hirshfield piano 
Cayenna Ponchione-Bailey conductor* 
Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Young Artists’ Platform
Pre-concert recital 18:30-18:50

Ticket Information

Full price: £15, £28, £38, £48

Students from £5

Doors open for Young Artist Platform at 18:20 ready for a 18:30 start

Doors open for Main Concert at 19:00 ready for a 19:30 start

Duration: 130 Minutes