Tchaikovsky and Brahms with Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Photo of Leia Zhu with a violin

Overlooking a lake in the Austrian resort of Pörtschach, Johannes Brahms wrote a symphony that captured all he saw: the beauty of the sunset, the stillness of the night, a new day awakening. Brahms’s symphony of light and shadows tells of the magnificence of creation, but with a ribbon of mourning tied around its arm. Before Marios Papadopoulos conducts what is surely the composer’s best-loved symphony, the astonishing prodigy Leia Zhu takes on Tchaikovsky’s powerful and poetic Violin Concerto.

Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
Brahms Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

Leia Zhu violin
Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Ticket Information

Full price: £15, £28, £38, £48

Students from £5

Doors open at 17:30 ready for a 18:00 start

Duration: 120 Minutes including an internal of 20 minutes


Or call Oxford Philharmonic's Box Office via 01865 980980 (Monday-Friday 09:00-17:00)

Suitable for ages 6+