Beethoven’s Emperor with Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Few works communicate just how significant and pivotal Beethoven was as a cultural figure as the ‘Emperor’ piano concerto, every bit deserving of its title. This unprecedented ‘grand concerto’ would explode the scale of the genre and prove a model for composers from Brahms to Liszt and beyond. Inspired by new, louder and more sensitive pianos and alarmed by Napoleon’s bombardment of Vienna, Beethoven created a monumental musical testament to the freedom of man. Marios Papadopoulos plays and directs the concerto after Beethoven’s highly spirited Symphony No. 4.

Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60
Piano Concerto No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 73, 'Emperor'

Marios Papadopoulos - piano/conductor

Ticket Information

£48 / £38 / £28 / £15 / Students from £5

Doors open at 18:30 ready for a 19:00 start.

Latecomers permitted at an appropriate point in the performance


Or call 01865 980980